0
Review Article

State-of-the-art and Future Research Needs for Multiscale Analysis of Li-ion Cells

[+] Author and Article Information
K. Shah

The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, TX, USA
kshah@mavs.uta.edu

N. Balsara

University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA
nbalsara@berkeley.edu

S. Banerjee

Washington State University, Pullman, WA, USA
soumik.banerjee@wsu.edu

M. Chintapalli

University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA
mchint@berkeley.edu

A. P. Cocco

University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT, USA
alex.cocco@uconn.edu

W. K. S. Chiu

University of Connecticut, Storrs, CT, USA
wchiu@engr.uconn.edu

I. Lahiri

Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, India
indrafmt@iitr.ac.in

S. Martha

Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad, India
martha@iith.ac.in

A. Mistry

Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA
aashutoshmistry91@tamu.edu

P. Mukherjee

Texas A&M University, College Station, TX, USA
pmukherjee@tamu.edu

V. Ramadesigan

Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai, India
venkatr@iitb.ac.in

C. Sharma

Indian Institute of Technology, Hyderabad, India
cssharma@iith.ac.in

V. R. Subramanian

University of Washington, Seattle, WA, USA
vsubram@uw.edu

S. Mitra

Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, Mumbai, India
sagar.mitra@iitb.ac.in

A. Jain

The University of Texas at Arlington, Arlington, TX, USA
jaina@uta.edu

1Corresponding author.

ASME doi:10.1115/1.4036456 History: Received February 06, 2017; Revised March 24, 2017

Abstract

The performance, safety and reliability of Li-ion batteries are determined by a complex set of multiphysics, multiscale phenomena that must be holistically studied and optimized. This paper provides a summary of the state-of-the-art in a variety of research fields related to Li-ion battery materials, processes and systems. The material presented here is based on a series of discussions at a recently concluded bilateral workshop in which researchers and students from India and USA participated. It is expected that this summary will help understand the complex nature of Li-ion batteries, and help highlight critical directions for future research.

Copyright (c) 2017 by ASME
Your Session has timed out. Please sign back in to continue.

References

Figures

Tables

Errata

Discussions

Some tools below are only available to our subscribers or users with an online account.

Related Content

Customize your page view by dragging and repositioning the boxes below.

Related Journal Articles
Related eBook Content
Topic Collections

Sorry! You do not have access to this content. For assistance or to subscribe, please contact us:

  • TELEPHONE: 1-800-843-2763 (Toll-free in the USA)
  • EMAIL: asmedigitalcollection@asme.org
Sign In